Scholarship applicants click Apply below

Boston Cornerstone Society Event

Point Foundation held its annual Boston Cornerstone Event at the Mandarin Oriental Hotel on Thursday, October 18. Over 220 guests enjoyed cocktails and appetizers as they heard from Point Scholars Kayla Wingert and Cary Crall, as well as Point Alumnus (and Mayor of Holyoke, MA) Alex Morse, all of whom shared their powerful stories about the successes they have achieved with Point Foundation. Other scholars in attendance included Kian Goh, Marco Herndon, Katie Kendall, Noah Lupica, Cameron McGinn, Jason Nichols, Zoe Reidinger, Rachael Smith, and Erica Turner; alumni present included Steven Dry, Kyle Rapinan, LeLaina Romero, and bex*.

Under the direction of Co-Chairs Ceceilia Allwein and Rodney Raftery, the Host Committee raised approximately $90,000 – a total that is still rising as more donations arrive! The total was reached through support from our sponsors, ticket sales, and donations made at the event, including a hugely successful raffle that offered such prizes as Coach leather goods and a vacation to Mexico.

The 2012 event continues a six-year tradition of incredible success from Boston Cornerstone events. Joining in the hard work were Host Committee members Bill Anderson, John Basile, Daniel Batterman, Cydney Berry, Geoff Brownell, Suzanne Daley, Sara DeBrule, Peter Epstein, John Haas, Joanne Herman, Lance Koenig, Rob Landino, Michael Metivier, LeeMichael McLean, Mark Schwindenhammer, Jessica Payne, Michael Poirier, Kevin Powers, Scott White, and John Wolfarth.

Special thanks to our all our sponsors, the Mandarin Oriental, and our media sponsor, Boston Spirit. Check out photos below!

Thursday, October 18, 2012
Mandarin Oriental Hotel

Support LGBTQ students pursuing higher education.

Platinum sponsors


Gold Sponsors

 silver sponsors


Media Sponsor


Host Committee

Bill Anderson
Ceceilia Allwein (Event Co-Chair)
John Basile
Daniel Batterman
Cydney Berry*
Geoff Brownell
Suzanne Daley
Sara DeBrule*
Peter Epstein
John Haas
Joanne Herman^
Lance Koenig
Rob Landino
Michael Metivier
Lee Michael McLean
Mark Schwindenhammer
Jessica Payne
Michael Poirier
Kevin Powers
Rodney Raftery* (Event Co-Chair)
Scott White*
John Wolfarth†

 * Point Trustee
† Point Regent
^ Point Board of Director


Point offers mentorship, leadership development and community service training to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer (LGBTQ) students.

 Contact Us | About Us | Press | Scholars Resource Section | Privacy Policy | Apply | Donate Online Now
© 2015 Point Foundation The National LGBTQ Scholarship Fund, a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization, tax ID: 84-1582086