Scholarship applicants click Apply below

Point Honors New York 

More than 400 guests joined two dozen celebrities and dignitaries at the annual Point Honors gala on April 7, which celebrated the accomplishments of Point Foundation (Point) scholarship recipients. Dr. Neal Baer, the Executive Producer and Showrunner for acclaimed television programs such as “ER” and “Law & Order: Special Victims Unit” and “Under The Dome,” received the Point Leadership Award, and Lena Dunham, the Golden Globe Winner and Emmy Nominated Actress and Producer of HBO's “Girls," accepted the Point Horizon Award.

The event, held at the landmark New York Public Library on Fifth Avenue, raised $620,000 for Point, the nation’s largest scholarship-granting organization for LGBTQ students of merit. Celebrity appearances at Point Honors included Andrew Rannells, Mariska Hargitay, Michael Urie, Tyne Daly, Judith Light, Anthony Edwards, Rachelle Lefevre, Billy Porter, Mike Doyle, BD Wong and Thomas Roberts. Guests also enjoyed performances by Telly Leung and Uzo Aduba. Elected officials also attended to show support for LGBTQ students, including California Lieutenant Governor Gavin Newson, New York State Comptroller Thomas Di Napoli and New York City Councilmember Corey Johnson.

Mariska Hargitay presented Neal Baer with the Point Leadership award and in an emotional speech Dr. Baer said, “I am deeply grateful to everyone at the Point Foundation for this wonderful honor.  Everyone should have the right to live with dignity, respect and safety…Being gay for me means being honest and, I know the word is almost cliché today, being authentic…I can say to all of you tonight that I’m glad I’m gay, that I love being gay. I love being who I am.”

Speaking to the audience after being presented with the Point Horizon award by her “Girls” co-star, Andrew Rannells, Lena Dunham said, “Our goal on Girls is to show you non-stereotypical examples of the range of people who inhabit this amazing city, and we are learning more about what that means every day. This award is such a beautiful indication that we are finding our way…I salute you, Point scholars and graduates. I thank you, Point Foundation” 

Lena Dunham
2014 Point Horizon Award recipient Lena Dunham
Neal Baer
2014 Point Leadership Award recipient Dr. Neal Baer
Michael Urie
Actor Michael Urie announces partnership with Point Foundation to create a named scholarship with proceeds from his upcoming documentary 'Thank You For Judging'
Lena Dunham, Uzo Aduba, Telly Leung
Uzo Aduba (center) and Telly Leung (right) pictured with
Lena Dunham (left) provide the evening's musical performances  
Neal Baer, Lena Dunham, Judith Light
Honorees Dr. Neal Baer and Lena Dunham with actress and Point Honorary Board Member Judith Light
Rachelle Lefevre, Neal Baer, BD Wong
Actress Rachelle Lefevre, 2014 Point Leadership Award recipient Dr. Neal Baer, and actor BD Wong



View a compilation of social media posts about Point Honors New York.

View media highlights from Point Honors New York, April 7, 2014.  

View highlights from 2013 Point Honors New York event. 


Monday, April 7, 2014
The New York Public Library

Support LGBTQ students pursuing higher education.

Presenting sponsors

HBO 2014

premier sponsors

principal sponsorS

philippe brugÈre-trélat & mitchell draizin

David henry jacobs

Bumble 2014

Estee Lauder

Friends of Point


The Advocate Logo

LOCAL media sponsor

honorary Co-Chairs

Herb Hamsher
Judith light
David Mixner

Host committee

Diego Arango
Jennifer & Victoria Barbetta
Philippe brugère-trélat & Mitchell Draizin
Jim Cummings & Justin Mohatt
Shelley & Robert Fischel
Peter Lease
Peter Lichtenthal &
Dr. Perry Eisman
Frank Morgan &
Brent Feigenbaum

Patrick O'donnell
Clay Petre
Seth M. Rosen & Jacob K. Goertz
Ron Rudolph
Casey P. Ryan
david steward &
Pierre Friedrichs
Jonah Trout
Richard Ziegelasch



Point offers mentorship, leadership development and community service training to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer (LGBTQ) students.

 Contact Us | About Us | Press | Scholars Resource Section | Privacy Policy | Apply | Donate Online Now
© 2015 Point Foundation The National LGBTQ Scholarship Fund, a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization, tax ID: 84-1582086